799 Days: Anthony Alexander Is Now The Longest-Reigning KSWA Heavyweight Champion Of All-Time

February 13, 2022
By Trapper Tom, Editor, KSWA Digest

It's a foregone conclusion that this isn't the way Anthony Alexander wanted to earn this distinction. As of February 13, 2022, The Prime-Time Player has held the Commonwealth's most prestigious wrestling prize 799 days, the longest tenured champion in the Keystone State's most important promotion.

Alexander won the championship on December 7, 2019 and guarded the prize a couple of times before COVID-19 shut everything down in 2020. Some 447 days went by between Alexander's title defenses. And while he has defended practically every event the KSWA has hosted since returning to action in May, 2021, the KSWA hasn't hosted an event since FanFest on December 4, 2021.

Since Alexander's return to the Keystone State Wrestling Alliance at the Joe Abby Memorial Tournament in 2017, he has been nearly unstoppable. That day he won the tournament. The 6'4", 250-pound champion then had an extended run as the Golden Triangle Champion before defeating Dennis Gregory on December 7, 2019.When the native of Hollywood, California, successfully defended Edric Everhart at FanFest, he had been in possession of the KSWA Championship for 728 days, third-longest on record. Between FanFest and the next scheduled card on March 19, another 105 days will have passed. When that event kicks off, Alexander will be the KSWA Champion for a staggering 833 days.

Alexander bested Gregory in a rematch on January 4, 2020 and pinned Edric Everhart at the KSWA's historic 20th anniversary event on February 22, 2020.

In 2021, Alexander successfully triumphed in title defenses 10 times. Top-notch challengers all, The Beastman, Bubba the Bulldog, Dennis Gregory, Officer Dan Murphy, Harley T. Morris, Lucio Deveer, Sin Born, and a returning Everhart all tried.

Once the KSWA returns to action, Alexander will once again lead the promotion. A hungry locker room will be more eager than ever to get their shot at the KSWA Championship.

Back To Main News Page